snow, disappointment and admiration, all in one!

When I woke up this morning it  was the thinnest layer of snow on the ground, the first one of the year! Very nice, I love snow, until about New Years, then I want it to be spring. But today, it makes me so happy!

Me and a couple of friends had movie night last night, and for once, I rented two movies (I don´t do that very often), but I don´t know if I´m too happy about them. I rented Pan´s labyrinth, expecting a fantasy movie, but found it to be mostly about the Franco years in Spain (in Spanish!), and found it very disappointing. I also rented Memoirs of a Geisha, and was a little disappointed on how they portrayed the world of geishas. I´ve read quite a few books on the subject, and didn´t recognize the Gion I´ve read about, I think the movie made the life of a geisha (or geiko as they are really called) much cheaper, much closer to the western thought of the geisha as being prostitutes. But it was beautiful, though - beautiful clothes, scenery, music, and with no expectations, I might have enjoyed it more.

My family was here last weekend, my sister stayed with me, and my parents stayed with my other sister. It´s such a treat to have my sister here - I think she might be the best person I know - great personality, fun, responsible, hardworking, pretty - she´s the kind of person I´d like to be. Maybe I should be grateful, to have such a good rolemodel so close to me.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Mariví

HI,
lovely blog!
I also watched "pan´s labyrinth" and have to say that I don't agree with you..... I am Spanish , and it is tru the film is set in Franco`s times and you can´t separate than from the fantasy world in the film ... because in the film the labyrhinth is a way to scape to that reality .... If that film what that much on franco
people would learn some history from it .... I don´t think anyone has though :)

2007-12-01 @ 03:20:33
URL: http://www.handmadewithamour.com

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0