mostly glögg

I´m in such a Xmas mood, and then I discover it´s more than three weeks until the first of Advent. How is that possible - there are all these Christmas magazines and decorations in the stores, you can buy glögg and pepparkakor (ginger cookies). Well, I´ve gotten started, I´ve had my first glögg, Dufvenkroks non-alcoholic vanilla, which was really good, and I´ve had pepparkakor and gorgonzola(type)cheese. If you can´t buy your glögg, try this recipe. Me, I like my glögg white, so try it with  white wine or apple cider instead of red wine.

Glögg or Mulled Wine


Ingredients

  • 1 bottle of red wine (inexpensive)
  • 1/4 - 1/2 cup (50 ml - 100 ml) vodka (optional)
  • 5 - 20 whole cloves
  • 1 large teaspoonful cardamom seeds
  • 2 - 4 pieces (sticks) cinnamon
  • 1 - 2 pieces ginger
  • Peel from half a lemon
  • 1/2 - 1 cup (125 - 250 ml) sugar
  • 1 large teaspoonful vanilla sugar

Preparation

  1. Crush the cinnamon and cardamom. Peel the lemon. Put all the spices and peel into a glass jar with the vodka.
  2. Cover. Leave overnight. Strain the vodka, discard the spices.
  3. Mix the spiced vodka with the wine and sugar.
  4. Heat all the ingredients in a large saucepan until steaming hot. Do not boil! Stir and taste.
  5. If not sweet enough, add more sugar. If too sweet, add more wine.

I had my glögg in my lovely glögg cups, which I bought last year, after wanting them for a whole year. You might not be able to buy them, but you can look at them:

16274-406
The words inside are all pretty winter words - I really love these, and I´m so happy I bought them!

I re-thought my parents presents, I´m not in the knitting mood. They are getting a calendar, which I make collages in. Hopefully it´ll turn out nice, and hopefully they´ll like it!


Kommentarer
Postat av: Shelby

Now the Glogg sounds amazing!! I'm going to make it for the holiday party I'm having next month. Thanks for posting the reicpe!

2006-11-11 @ 13:25:39
URL: http://shelbyknits2.blogspot.com

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0