trademarks, we all should have one!

image609

To those of you who are faithful readers (you do exist, don´t you?!), you might have noticed that the only consistent thing about my blog, is its inconsistency. I get an obsession (I started this blog as a knitting blog, then I got hooked on Japanese kawaii, and then... well, you just take a look at the archives and categories and see for yourself) and wherever it takes me, I follow. For now, it´s very much vintage, 40s and 50s and especially vintage housekeeping (it´s not the first time, you might notice), and I hope to stay here for a while, since I do enjoy it very much. My wish is to dress in said period clothing, but I have a hard time fitting into them, I have some skirt sewing in the back of my mind, though. And my new job is actually perfect for working on those high heel skills - I don´t need to be on my feet much, and if I carry them in my bag to and from work, the winter outside shouldn´t be a problem. I just placed a bid on a pair of 50s cat´s eyes glasses, I hope I win them, and that they suit me - wouldn´t they look great, kinda like my personal trading mark?
 
Personal trading marks are supposedly something one should have, I´ve read. Maybe your perfume, your bright red lipstick, the way you´re always writing with an old Fountain pen... Something that is distinctivly you, and whenever someone sees it somewhere else, they think of you. Perfume is really a thing like that, especially in our mother´s and grandmother´s generation - they always wore the same perfume, maybe changed to one a bit heavier for evening, and everytime you smelled that perfum, you thought of your mother. Myself, I have used doussins of different perfumes, some I´ve loved more than other, but no one that has become my trademark. I think it´s time to get rid of my current collection, to search for that one, I´m thinking someone a bit older, not that much used - I don´t want to smell my scent on someone else! Oh, and I´d love to be one of those who always wear heels and pantyhose, I love how you look much classier walking in heels, than I do in my usual flats.

I´ve ordered a pile of books, all about vintage housekeeping, I can´t wait to get them. And my Puppini Sisters CD´s! They would go so well with the new persona I´m trying to create (a persona quite far away from my normal, alternative self, but perhaps more suited for a 33-year-old woman, and not the 33-year-old teenager I now look like)! And a quick book recommendation - if you haven´t read Hester Browne´s books about The Little Lady Agency (Sensible Melissa Romney-Jones proclaims to her enamored American client, Jonathan Riley, "I like to think I'm a vintage girl. A proper 1950s woman's woman," to which Riley responds: "A proper 1950s man's woman." Crackling with Brit chick wit, Browne's first novel stars a spunky whirlwind in search of love and money. Melissa, after losing her job as a London estate agent, starts the Little Lady Agency to attend to the social needs of single men. This requires Melissa to don a blonde wig and become Honey Blennerhesket, a posh "Mary Poppins in silk stockings." Running the new agency leads to the successful channeling of her inner glamour goddess and romance with Jonathan, but then she wonders, does he love Honey or Melissa?) do grab one! I am only halfway through the first, but I´m loving it so far, and I´m loving Melissa/Honey - that´s the kind of woman I´m aiming for!

Kommentarer
Postat av: SierraMoon

coming from yvestown( congratulations)
sorry but I can't help on this post :
I'm so glad to read I'm glamourous, then !!!
thanks for cheering up my day :)

2007-12-03 @ 23:52:36
URL: http://arcencielolavabo.canalblog.com/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0