new and very domestic books!

I got two new books yesterday, and they were very lovely both. First:

image638 The Perfect Hostess - Rose Henniker-Heaton

This book was first published in 1931, and contains advice on what to do when you´ve got gusts for lunch, what to serve different gusts for brakfast, little comforts for every room - everything you need to be a perfect hostess à la 1931. It is utterly charming, and since I can´t bare the thought of keeping it all to myself, I will post under a new category the best of "The Perfect Hostess". I  can´t wait for her Christmas book to come, I hope to get it before Christmas!

image639 The Gentle Art of Domesticity - Jane Brocket

A lovely, thick book with beautiful pictures, all about the treats that is domesticity. Sewing, baking, knitting, reading, gardening... The writer muses and delights us in short chapters about everything that makes life worth living, this is a book to take in slowly, thoroughly enjoying every word. Did I like it? Do you have to ask?

Two great buys, that was! And even though they are very different from eachother, both are really pretty, and I know I will enjoy them for a long time!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0