between a rock and a hard place

I´m somewhat torn: I went to the dietitian yesterday (good thing: on my good eating days, I eat very well, bad thing: on my bad days, I still have binge eating symptoms), and as a last question I asked her what she thought of gastric by-pass. She thought it was a good solution for a lot of people, but not for me, as long as I eat a vegan diet - my stomach will be to small for me to get the nutrients I need from a plant-based diet. That was something I hadn´t even thought aobut - I know I have to eat more now, but I hadn´t realized that I would have to do it later also (duh!). So, the thing is - find a solution now and loose weight on my own (the dietitian seemed very good, easy to talk to, and with some therapy for the eating problems I thought I had gotten rid of, maybe I can do it), or eat a ovo-lakto diet after the surgery (which I think is as morally wrong as eating meat). I feel I´m stuck between a rock and a hard place.
I know most of you are lurkers, but can I please get an opinion? Possible staying fat for the rest of my life, but ethically feeling good, or getting slim, but feeling like crap in my soul?

Kommentarer
Postat av: Marybeth

Perhaps you could find a local farmer who raises their own cows and chickens for eggs, etc- and incorporate only their products in your diet so you could feel better about that? This way you wouldn't be supporting factory farming but there are also lots of great protein substitutes for vegans and vegetarians that I'm sure you know about, I personally have found that the Lightlife company has a nice selection of products...but perhaps our philosophies are different. I don't think that the lacto-ovo diets are ethically wrong but that animal suffering is wrong (hence my local farmer interest). Good luck!

2008-02-20 @ 17:35:21
Postat av: malin

Thanks for the advice, Marybeth! If I could find some local farmers who raise their animals in a good way, that would definitely be a choice, but those are far between here - in some ways Sweden is literally in the middle of nowhere. I´m thinking about how I can inhance my protein and nutrient intake on a very low calory diet (which follows a gastric by-pass), in a perfect world the two things should be able to combine.

2008-02-21 @ 11:32:10
URL: http://malinmaskros.blogg.se
Postat av: Karla

My husband is a large guy and we've talked about gastric bypass. It scares me too much to "let him" do it. There are too many things that can go wrong, in my opinion. I don't think I could go through with it. I'm one of those people that would rather be fat.

2008-02-21 @ 17:14:59
URL: http://www.rosecottagelane.blogspot.com

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0