halloween´s up soon!

It´s almost halloween, and I love halloween! Despite it being such a new holiday in Sweden (especially older people dislikes it, being "American import and just an excuse for spending money, and people forgetting the old ways of celebrating All Hallow´s Eve, with lighting candles on the graves of our dearly departed" - I can´t see why you can´t do both), it feels like a natural way of lighting up fall. And it fits my personality like a glove, with the sculls, and Jack o´lanterns, and bats and stuff. We´re in no way near the Americans in the way we celebrate or decorate, but a carved pumpkin face is an absolute must. I´m thinking of inviting sisters and friend over, but the thing is, it´s on a Tuesday, and all of them have kids, and I don´t plan on inviting the kids, just a girls night.
Another reason, I think, that I love Halloween, is that it´s also the Wiccan new years eve, Samhain, and Wicca is the closest thing to a religion I´ve found. Christmas for me is not about the birth of Christ, but instead it´s Yule, celebrating the Winter Solstice, and the return of light.

16274-362

Kommentarer
Postat av: malin

I'm only 30 and still don't like Halloween :) I think it's justified to regard Halloween as a commercial feast since it's been introduced to us through commercial channels and not something that is traditional for us. We have All Hallow´s Eve which is not at all like Halloween, requireing so many gadgets. All Hallow´s Eve is about is rememberance and values, and so much the better for it.

2006-10-18 @ 15:41:44
URL: http://blog.zaffron.se
Postat av: malin

One more thing - I actually like reading you blog :) Can't agree all the time though. Hope your bad week is done with soon.

2006-10-21 @ 08:25:06
URL: http://blog.zaffron.se

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0